Nocturna by Maya Motayne | Day 5 of Blog Tour

*This is an ARC review. I received a copy of the ARC from Hodder and Stoughton in exchange for an honest review and all thoughts/opinions in this blog are purely my own*

Book: Nocturna (A Forgery of Magic #1)

Author: Maya Motayne

Genre: YA Fantasy

Rating: 4/5

Pages: 480

Expected Publishing: 2 May 2019

Purchase Link: Book Depository

Synopsis:

Set in a Latinx-inspired world, a face-changing thief and a risk-taking prince must team up to defeat a powerful evil they accidentally unleashed.

To Finn Voy, magic is two things: a knife to hold under the chin of anyone who crosses her…and a disguise she shrugs on as easily as others pull on cloaks.

As a talented faceshifter, it’s been years since Finn has seen her own face, and that’s exactly how she likes it. But when Finn gets caught by a powerful mobster, she’s forced into an impossible mission: steal a legendary treasure from Castallan’s royal palace or be stripped of her magic forever.

After the murder of his older brother, Prince Alfehr is first in line for the Castallan throne. But Alfie can’t help but feel that he will never live up to his brother’s legacy. Riddled with grief, Alfie is obsessed with finding a way to bring his brother back, even if it means dabbling in forbidden magic.

But when Finn and Alfie’s fates collide, they accidentally unlock a terrible, ancient power—which, if not contained, will devour the world. And with Castallan’s fate in their hands, Alfie and Finn must race to vanquish what they have unleashed, even if it means facing the deepest darkness in their pasts.

I absolutely loved this book!! I was hooked, pretty much straight from the beginning and devoured the book in a much shorter time frame than I anticipated! I loved Finn and Alfie, pretty much as soon as I met them, and I truly felt for them both!

Finn… She’s basically the Delilah Bard of Nocturna! I loved her sass, her humour and how she used it to hide her true feelings, but more than anything I hated having to read about what she’s suffered through! She has such a tragic backstory, you can’t help but feel for her!

Alfie… I didn’t think I’d like him as much but he wasn’t the type of Prince I was expecting! I was expecting someone who had been mischievous, who was maybe hardened? But the solemn, open book that he was… it was heartwrenching having to see him suffer through the guilt and insecurities plaguing him!

There’s also a lot of similarities to A Darker Shade of Magic and Six of Crows! It’s perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and V.E. Schwab!

The characters were well developed and the pacing of the book was great! It wasn’t predictable for me so I was discovering certain parts with the characters and pretty much on parr with the emotions!

The plotline was great, it ended on a surprising note and yet it has me craving for the second book already! It’s amongst my favourite reads of 2019 so far!!

The author managed to tie together the plot, character development and pacing very well! The book sunk it’s claws into me from page one and I just couldn’t shake them off! This is a gem of a debut from an amazing new talent and I’m hoping you guys love it too!!

Author: bookanishgirl

I love all things bookish and my favorite fandom is Shadowhunters... I am a Slytherin although i do have traits from all four houses (The test was 29% Slytherin, 26% Hufflepuff and Ravenclaw and 19% Gryffindor) 😂 and of course candles 😍😍😍😍 in love with them!!!! My favourite merch, other than candles, is bookmarks and book sleeves. I also make art prints 🤗😄😘 I've also signed up for the Asian Book Blogger directory and if you're an Asian book blogger... feel free to sign up as well! Here's the link: https://shutupshealea.com/projects/asian-book-bloggers/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s