A Gathering of Shadows by Victoria Schwab

This is going to be a general overview of my thoughts whilst reading this book and why I gave it 5/5 🌟 There are a few spoilers in this review so read at your own risk!

The best part about this book is that the characters are given this wide berth of time between the first and second book to actually be without others! For example, Lila goes out to sea to do as she wanted and it isn’t the type of story where she decides she loves Kell in book 1 and decides to throw away her entire life’s dreams. She goes out to sea and she has adventures!

Furthermore, the intricacy with which the lives of the characters are intertwined is amazing! You see how the same character doesn’t come across as the same type of person to each and every single one of the leads, and all of them have their reasons, it is not just a type of “I don’t trust him”, it’s more “I hate him because he did such and such”.

Also… Holland… my baby! This is one book where we’re introduced to Holland and how he is faring after the disasters that took place one after another in the first book! You see how he is handling himself, but moreover you get to see him for more than just a villain! More than just a cold-hearted murderer and this more than anything truly shows Schwab’s amazing writing (I feel like this is a bland compliment but I have no other ways to put it!) Her writing is masterful and weaves you into the world until you want to live there! You want to be with the characters, see the sights and feel the magic!

Author: bookanishgirl

I love all things bookish and my favorite fandom is Shadowhunters... I am a Slytherin although i do have traits from all four houses (The test was 29% Slytherin, 26% Hufflepuff and Ravenclaw and 19% Gryffindor) 😂 and of course candles 😍😍😍😍 in love with them!!!! My favourite merch, other than candles, is bookmarks and book sleeves. I also make art prints 🤗😄😘 I've also signed up for the Asian Book Blogger directory and if you're an Asian book blogger... feel free to sign up as well! Here's the link: https://shutupshealea.com/projects/asian-book-bloggers/

Leave a comment